The Diamond Pro

James Allen & Blue Nile

By Michael Fried

Scared of getting ripped off? Don’t want to waste your money? Confused by all the choices? Contact us.

Dieser Artikel behandelt die Geschichte des Retail-Diamantmarktes und seine Entwicklung zum Onlineverkauf.  Falls Sie Kritiken über  James Allen und Blue Nile lesen wollen, klicken Sie hier: Blue Nile Kritik  und James Allen Kritik .

Die Zeit vor Blue Nile

Am Anfang der Geschichte der Juwelierlieferkette steht De Beers, der Rohdiamanten gegen Barzahlung an sogenannte Sightholder (eine bestimmte Gruppe von Diamantpolierern, die das Recht haben Rohdiamanten direkt von de Beers zu kaufen) verkauft, die die Rohdiamanten zu polierten Diamanten verarbeiten.

Die Diamantpolierer verkaufen die Diamanten an Großhändler, die sie wiederum an lokale Juweliergeschäfte weiterverkaufen. Dieses System hat einige Nachteile für den Verbraucher.

Die Nachteile bei mehreren Absatzwegen

Probleme mit dem Kapitalfluss

Erstens, da De Beers von seinen Sightholdern nur Bargeldzahlungen akzeptiert, haben diese ständig mit ihrem Kapitalfluss zu kämpfen.

Sie haben etwa alle sechs Wochen eine feste Ausgabe von mehreren Millionen Dollar, wenn De Beers seine Rohdiamanten auf seinen Auktionen, wo die Sightholder die Diamanten selbst begutachten können, verkauft.

Die meisten Diamantpolierer haben diese Geldsumme aber nicht einfach so herumliegen, das heißt sie müssen einen Kredit aufnehmen, der ihnen ermöglicht, wann immer nötig, über so eine hohe Summe verfügen zu können. Dazu kommt, dass es ungefähr 3 Monate dauert, eine Kiste Rohdiamanten zu bearbeiten.

Zinszahlungen

Auch wenn der Sightholder auf wundersame Weise alle verfügbaren fertig polierten Diamanten an einem Tag verkaufen könnte, blieben ihm immer noch drei Monate an Zinszahlungen für den ursprünglichen Diamantenpreis.

Verspätete Zahlungen und Verzögerungen 

Und diese Situation tritt auch nur dann ein, wenn die Kunden in bar bezahlen, was im Diamantengeschäft ziemlich selten vorkommt. Die meisten Diamantenhändler sagen zwar, dass sie in den nächsten 90 Tagen nach dem Kauf bezahlen, doch im Durchschnitt zahlen sie mit ein- oder zweimonatiger Verspätung.

Und hier ist die Dauer von (mindestens) einem Monat für die Zertifizierung des Diamanten noch nicht mit eingerechnet.

Eine weitere Konsequenz von De Beers Bargeld-Forderung ist, dass Sightholder es hassen ihre Diamanten irgendwo lagern zu müssen. Es kommt nur sehr selten vor, dass ein Sightholder einen Konsignationshandel mit einem Verbraucher eingeht.

Vorauszahlung

Die Sightholder müssen stets all ihre Waren verkaufen, denn, ob sie wollen oder nicht, kommt alle 6 Wochen ein neuer Schub an Diamanten, den sie im Voraus bezahlen müssen.

Die Sightholder sind nicht die einzigen, die in der Marketingkette von Diamanten unter Druck stehen. Diamantschmuck ist im Allgemeinen ein Geschäft mit geringen Umsätzen.

Vorrat

Auf der anderen Seite ist es ein Geschäft, in dem man stets einen riesen Warenbestand vorrätig haben muss.

Wenn Sie auch nur ein Angebot von 100 losen Diamanten hätten, aus dem Kunden wählen könnten (was bei all den verschiedenen Formen, Größen Farben und Reinheiten wirklich nicht viel ist) könnte das leicht $500.000 bis $1.000.000 kosten. Und dies gilt nur für die Diamanten!

Keystones

Denken Sie auch an das ganze Gold und die Uhren. Die meisten Juweliere können sich einen so großen Warenbestand nur durch Barzahlungen allein nicht leisten, deswegen müssen sie sich in der Regel hohe Summen leihen.

Um diese enormen Kosten decken zu können, waren die Preisaufschläge von Juwelieren in der Geschichte des Diamantenhandels stets sehr hoch.   Es gibt im Diamantengeschäft sogar einen bestimmten Begriff für diesen Standardpreisaufschlag von 100% – man nennt ihn auch „keystone“.

Wie Blue Nile diese Probleme angeht

blue_nile_logoWie Sie wahrscheinlich bereits wissen, hat Blue Nile keine losen Diamanten in seinem Bestand. All die losen Diamanten, die auf der Webseite aufgelistet sind, befinden sich in Dutzenden, wenn nicht Hunderten Gewölben auf der ganzen Welt, die wiederum genauso vielen unterschiedlichen Unternehmen gehören.

Diese Unternehmen schicken Blue Nile stets ihre elektronischen Bestandsaufnahmen mit allen Details zu den einzelnen Diamanten sowie dem Großhandelspreis für einen Diamanten.

Blue Nile gibt einen Preisaufschlag hinzu (in der Regel um 18%) und präsentiert diese Diamanten allen Websurfern auf der Suche nach einem Diamanten.

Vom Anbieter zum Kunden

Wenn der Kunde einen Diamanten kauft, wird der Diamant direkt mit einer standardisierten Rechnung von Blue Nile, die der Anbieter ausdrucken kann, von dem Anbieter zu dem Kunden gesendet.

Ich bin mir nicht sicher, wie lange es dauert bis Blue Nile den Anbieter für den Verkauf bezahlt, aber sicher nicht länger als 60 Tage.

Was die Sightholder angeht, kostet ihnen die Auflistung ihrer Diamanten bei Blue Nile nichts. Diese Unternehmen haben sowieso einen fortwährend hohen Warenbestand.

Die Vorteile für Sightholder

So lange wie ein Diamant in ihrem Büro liegt, müssen sie einfach dessen Daten bei Blue Nile hochladen und schon ist er zum Kauf verfügbar. Wenn der Sightholder einen Stammkunden hat, der seinen Diamanten kaufen will, verkauft er ihm den Diamanten und nimmt diesen einfach von der Blue Nile Liste.

Keine Chancen sind verloren, es öffnen sich nur neue Möglichkeiten. Und da es den Sightholdern nichts kostet ihre Diamanten über Blue Nile zu verkaufen, sind sie gewillt auf Blue Niles Webseite niedrigere Großhandelspreise anzubieten.

Blue Niles Vorteile

Blue Nile hat nicht die hohen Instandhaltungskosten eines gebräuchlichen Juweliergeschäfts und kann so gut und erfolgreich von einer deutlich niedrigeren Gewinnspanne (18% im Vergleich zu 100%) leben.

Außerdem liefert Blue Nile all seinen Anbietern Echtdaten über die Preise ihrer Konkurrenten für ähnliche Artikel. Dadurch entsteht eine echte Wettbewerbsdynamik, die letztlich die Preise auf ihr Minimum drückt.

Blue Nile vs. James Allen

Seitdem Blue Nile damit so erfolgreich ist, gibt es immer mehr Händler, die die Geschäftsidee nachahmen. Doch fast niemand kann mit Blue Nile‘s virtuellem Warenbestand, der einfachen Handhabung und dem Kundenservice mithalten. In dieser Hinsicht hat sich Blue Nile wirklich eine First-Mover-Marktposition gesichert.

Auf der anderen Seite jedoch ist Blue Nile‘s Warenangebot bereits etabliert und definiert und kann so leicht reproduziert werden. Ihr First-Mover-Vorteil hindert sie daran Diamanten billiger anzubieten. Dies macht es ihnen schwerer, da sie ein sehr hohes Marketing Budget decken müssen.

Es gibt ein Unternehmen, welches sich dadurch auszeichnet, dass es die Errungenschaften von Blue Nile aufgreift und die Industrie noch einen großen Schritt weiterbringt – Jamesallen.com .

jamesallen-logoSehen heißt glauben

Wie Sie vielleicht sehen, hatten die ordinären Juweliergeschäfte stets einen riesen Vorteil gegenüber all den großen Innovationen von Blue Nile‘s wie man Diamanten auf dem günstigsten Weg an den Verbraucher bringt.

In einem Geschäft nämlich kann man sich seinen Diamanten ansehen bevor man sich entscheidet ihn zu kaufen. Es scheint vielleicht albern und selbstverständlich, aber dies ist wirklich ein wichtiger Faktor. Nicht jeder kann sich einen VS oder VVS Diamanten leisten, bei dem es nicht so wichtig ist ihn vorher zu sehen.

Blue Nile versucht dem entgegenzuhalten, dass lose Diamanten eine Ware sind und man alles wissenswerte über sie ihrem Zertifikat entnehmen kann.

Blue Nile‘s irreführende Behauptung

Dies ist nicht wahr und die meisten Verbraucher verstehen intuitiv, dass das nicht richtig ist. Wie ich in meinem Artikel über die Reinheit erklärt habe, gleicht kein VS2 oder SI2 oder I1 dem anderen. Was die meisten VS2 und niedrigere Diamanten betrifft, müssen Sie sich den Diamanten wirklich anschauen bevor sie ihn kaufen.

Virtuelle Lupe

Jamesallen.com löst dieses Problem mit einer virtuellen Lupe. Jetzt können Sie einen Diamanten online kaufen und ihn sich vorher angucken.

So haben Sie nicht nur die Garantie, dass Sie das bekommen, was sie aufgrund des ausgewählten Reinheitsgrades erwarten, sondern können auch noch nach einem Diamanten mit einem niedrigeren Reinheitsgrad schauen (welcher unter bloßem Auge immer noch super aussehen wird), weil Sie ihn sich selbst angucken können!

 

 

About the author
Mike learned the diamond business from the ground-up at Leo Schachter Diamonds - one of the world's top diamond manufacturers. He has been recognized as a diamond industry expert by Time, PeopleMoney, The Daily Mirror, NerdWallet, The Times Herald, Yahoo Finance Australia, The Art of Charm, The Washington Diplomat, The Next Web, and more. See more
Top Recommended Vendors
James Allen James Allen is the leader in online diamond sales. Their imaging technology is at the point where it's almost the same as inspecting a diamond with a jeweler's loupe. Their customer experience is best in class, and they have recently upgraded their non-engagement jewelry inventory as well.
What we love about them:
  • No questions asked returns within 30 days of shipment. James Allen will send you a paid shipping label to return the ring.
  • Lifetime Warranty
  • Free International Shipping
  • Free prong tightening, repolishing, rhodium plating and cleaning every 6 months
  • Provide insurance appraisals
  • One free resizing within 60 days of purchase
  • Free ring inscriptions
  • Best-in-class high quality imagery of all diamonds in stock
  • 24/7 Customer Service
  • Best-in-class packaging

Blue Nile Blue Nile is the largest and most well known internet jewelry seller. They have the industry-leading largest available exclusive online inventory. Their high quality images are catching up to James Allens' and their prices are amazing. 
What we love about them:
  • No questions asked returns within 30 days of shipment. Blue Nile will send you a paid shipping label to return the ring.
  • Lifetime Warranty
  • Free Shipping
  • Free prong tightening, repolishing, rhodium plating and cleaning every 6 months
  • Provide insurance appraisal
  • One free resizing within the first year of purchase
  • High quality images of about half of their diamonds
  • 24/7 Customer Service
  • 100% credit towards future upgrades (must be at least double in value)
  • Best in class fulfillment

Still afraid of getting ripped off?

Before you buy a diamond, get personal buying advice from industry veterans. We'll help you get the best diamond for the money.

Ask your diamond purchase question here

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

DISCLAIMER: We don't use your email for marketing. Period.

Why we are doing this for free?

Click for Diamond Purchase Advice 100% Free

Ask your diamond purchase question here

We are a team of diamond experts who will teach you to identify scams and avoid spending money on features you can't see. Tell us as much information as possible to help us help you (ie, budget, preferences, etc)

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Cancel

DISCLAIMER: We don't use your email for marketing. Period.

Please enter your email address to receive your personal code:

Here is your coupon code: GFDSF3GF

James Allen & Blue Nile

If you’re out there looking for the best diamond for your money, then please contact us and let us know your budget and what you’re looking for. We’ll sift through thousands of diamonds online and send you suggested stones to choose from that fit your needs the best.

This article is a discussion of the history of the retail diamond market and its evolution towards selling online.  If you’re looking for reviews of James Allen & Blue Nile, then click here: Blue Nile Review and James Allen Review.

Before There Was Blue Nile

In the classic model of the diamond jewelry supply chain, De Beers sells rough diamonds for cash (Cash on Delivery — no credit allowed) to sightholders (a limited list of diamond polishers with rights to buy rough diamonds directly from De Beers) who manufacture the rough into polished diamonds.

The diamond polishers sell diamonds to local wholesalers who, in turn, sell to local jewelry stores.  This system leads to several disadvantages to the consumer.

The Disadvantages of Multiple Channels of Distribution


Problems with Cash Flow

Firstly, since De Beers demands of its sightholders cash payment, the sightholders are constantly struggling with cash flow.

They have a commitment of several million dollars approximately every six weeks when De Beers sells its rough diamonds at what it calls “sights” (hence, sightholders.)

Most diamond polishers don’t have that kind cash lying around, so they must have a constantly open large line of credit. Add to that the fact that it takes approximately 3 months to finish manufacturing a box of rough diamonds.

Interest Payments

Even if the sightholder could miraculously sell all of the diamonds polished from one box on the first day they are available, the sightholder has still added three months of interest payments onto the cost of the diamonds.

 Late Payments and Delays

And that’s only if their customers pay in cash, which is extremely rare in the diamond business.  Most diamond wholesalers agree to pay in 90 days from the time of their purchase, but on average, these diamond dealers will pay a month or two past their agreed upon time.

And this doesn’t take into consideration the additional month (at least) it will take to send the diamonds for certification.

Another outcome of this cash requirement of De Beers’ is that sightholders loathe to tie up their diamonds anywhere.  Rarely will a sightholder agree to leave diamonds on a consignment basis with a customer.

Payment Up-front

Sightholders need to constantly sell to clear out inventory — because whether they like it or not, a new batch of diamonds is always only 6 weeks away that they need to pay for up front.

Sightholders aren’t the only ones with a heavy burden of pressure in the marketing pipeline of diamonds.  Diamond jewelry is generally a relatively low turnover business.

Inventory Requirements

On the other hand, it’s a business where one must maintain a massive level of inventory.

If you just wanted to keep a stock of 100 loose diamonds for customers to chose from (which, considering all the different shapes and sizes and colors and clarities, 100 really isn’t such a large number), that could easily cost between $500,000 and $1,000,000. And this is just for the diamonds!


Imagine all the gold and watches.  Most jewelers can’t afford to maintain such a large inventory with their cash alone, so they generally must borrow heavily.

In order to cover this enormous cost, jewelry markups have historically been quite large.  There’s even a vernacular term for the standard markup in the jewelry business of 100% — it’s called a “keystone.”

How Blue Nile Addressed These Issues

blue_nile_logoAs you probably already know, Blue Nile does not inventory any loose diamonds.  All of the loose diamonds listed on their website are all sitting in tens, if not hundreds, of vaults all over the world belonging to just as many different companies.

These companies send Blue Nile a constant electronic feed of their inventory including all details of each diamond along with their wholesale price of the diamond.

Blue Nile adds on a standard markup (usually around 18%) and presents these diamonds to the web-surfing diamond consumer.

From Supplier to Consumer

When a customer purchases a diamond, the diamond is shipped directly from the supplier to the customer with a standardized invoice from Blue Nile that the supplier is able to print out.

I’m not sure exactly how long it takes Blue Nile to pay the vendor for the sale, but it is almost certainly not longer than 60 days.

From the perspective of the sightholder, listing their diamonds on Blue Nile costs them nothing.  These companies anyway have a constantly high level of inventory.

Sightholder Benefits

As long as the diamond is in their office, all they have to do is upload its details to Blue Nile and it immediately become available for sale.  If the sightholder has a regular customer who wants the diamond, so they sell it to their customer, and simply remove it from their Blue Nile feed.

No opportunities are lost, only new opportunities are achieved.  And since there are no expenses selling diamonds through Blue Nile, the sightholder is motivated to offer lower wholesale prices in their feed upload to Blue Nile.

Blue Nile’s Perspective

From Blue Nile’s perspective, they have none of the high inventory carrying costs of your typical bricks-and-mortar jewelry store, so they can survive, and thrive, on a significantly lower profit margin (18% versus 100%).

Also, Blue Nile provides live data to all of its suppliers of how their prices compare to their competitors for similar items.  This creates a true competitive market dynamic that ultimately drives prices down to their minimum.

Blue Nile vs. James Allen

Since Blue Nile came onto the scene, there have been an innumerable amount of imitators.  Just about all of them, however, can’t match Blue Nile’s size of virtual inventory and ease of use and customer service.  In this regard, Blue Nile truly carved out a significant first-mover advantage.

On the other hand, though, Blue Nile’s feature set is set and defined, it is easily replicable.  Their first-mover advantage will never allow them to offer diamonds any cheaper.  In fact, it can only hinder them, since they have a significant marketing budget they need to cover.

One firm stands out as taking all the good that Blue Nile delivered to the industry and bringing it one giant step farther — Jamesallen.com.


Seeing is Believing

You see, for all of Blue Nile’s great innovation in how to deliver diamonds to the consumer in the most cost effective way, there was always one giant advantage the bricks-and-mortar stores had over them.

In a store, you could actually see the diamond before you decided to purchase it!  It seems silly and obvious, but it’s truly a major factor.  Not everybody can afford a VS or VVS diamond where seeing the diamond is less important.

Blue Nile tries to make the claim that loose diamonds are a commodity and you can learn all you need to learn about each one by reading its certificate.

Blue Nile’s Misleading Claim

Not only is this not true, but most consumers already intuitively understand that it’s not true.  As I explained in my article about clarity, no two VS2s or SI2s, or I1s are alike.  For most diamonds VS2 and lower, you really need to examine the diamond before you buy it.

Virtual Loupe

Jamesallen.com solves this issue with their “virtual loupe.”  Now, you can buy a diamond online and examine it ahead of time.

This not only will give you the peace of mind that you are going to receive what you expect to receive given the clarity you have chose, but now you can purposely look for a lower clarity diamond (that will still look great to the naked eye) because you can check it and see for yourself!

Still afraid of getting ripped off?

Before you buy a diamond, get personal buying advice from industry veterans. We'll help you get the best diamond for the money.

Ask your diamond purchase question here

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

DISCLAIMER: We don't use your email for marketing. Period.

Why we are doing this for free?

Click for Diamond Purchase Advice 100% Free

Ask your diamond purchase question here

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.


DISCLAIMER: We don't use your email for marketing. Period.